

RESOLUTION

- **SUBJECT:** Commending the Honorable Sharon Bulova on the Occasion of Her Departure from the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission
- **WHEREAS:** The Honorable Sharon Bulova joined the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission in 1988, serving as chair in 1996 and as secretary-treasurer in 2019;
- WHEREAS: When Ms. Bulova departs NVTC, she will be the Commission's longest serving member, having made an indelible mark on transportation, especially public transit, in the region during her 30-plus years of service;
- WHEREAS: Ms. Bulova worked with her colleagues as Chair of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors to obtain the largest Transportation Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act Ioan ever issued by the federal government to help fund the \$5.8 billion Washington Metropolitan Transit Authority (WMATA) Silver Line project;
- WHEREAS: Ms. Bulova is a founding member and the longest-continuously serving member on the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Operations Board;
- WHEREAS: Ms. Bulova was instrumental in helping VRE achieve remarkable growth and the ability to provide safe, cost effective, accessible, reliable, convenient and comfortable commuter rail services;
- WHEREAS: Ms. Bulova is known as a congenial and pragmatic elected official who builds consensus by working individually with each of her fellow Commissioners; and
- WHEREAS: Ms. Bulova's efforts in founding VRE; bringing Metrorail to Tysons and Dulles International Airport; and advocating for high-quality transportation have contributed greatly to Northern Virginia's quality of life and economic vitality.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission commends the Honorable Sharon Bulova for her service to NVTC, the citizens of Northern Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Ms. Bulova as an expression of its gratitude and in appreciation of her work on the Commission in promoting and funding public transit and ridesharing in Northern Virginia.

Approved this 5th day of December 2019.

Matthew F. Letourneau Chairman