

RESOLUTION OF COMMENDATION

- **SUBJECT:** Commending the Honorable Michael Turner on His Departure from the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission
- WHEREAS: The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) serves as the voice of public transit in Northern Virginia, promoting the region's transit network through effective and efficient public transit and ridesharing programs to foster economic vitality in the region and the Commonwealth;
- **WHEREAS:** The Honorable Michael Turner has served on NVTC since 2020 representing Loudoun County;
- **WHEREAS:** The Honorable Michael Turner was first elected in November 2019 to represent the Ashburn District on the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, and is currently serving as the chair of the Board's Transportation and Land Use Committee;
- WHEREAS: During his tenure on NVTC, Mr. Turner served as a member of the Program Advisory Committee, offering thoughtful insights and support for many NVTC initiatives, including the Envision Route 7 Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project, the Commuter Choice program, zero-emission bus strategic planning, and zero- and reduced-fare initiatives;
- WHEREAS: Mr. Turner has also been a strong advocate for safe and reliable transit and long-term, sustainable transit funding solutions, as well as transit-oriented economic development in Northern Virginia; and
- **WHEREAS:** Mr. Turner championed the opening of the WMATA's Silver Line Phase 2, which has had more than one million riders go through the Dulles Airport Metrorail Station since it opened.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby commends the Honorable Michael Turner for his service to the citizens of Northern Virginia and to the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Honorable Michael Turner as an expression of its gratitude and in appreciation for his work on the Commission in promoting and funding public transit and ridesharing in Northern Virginia.

Approved this 4th day of January 2024.

erran

Matt de Ferranti Chair