

RESOLUTION #2466

SUBJECT: Selection of NVTC Representatives to Various Boards

WHEREAS: NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), the Virginia Railway

Express (VRE) and the Virginia Transit Association (VTA);

WHEREAS: Some of NVTC's jurisdictions may not formally appoint their NVTC members prior

to NVTC's January meeting and some may not be ready with recommendations

for appointment to various boards; and

WHEREAS: Secretary Shannon Valentine designated Paul C. Smedberg to be the Secretary's

designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board, which became effective January 1, 2019 with the term expiring January 4, 2022, and has designated him again for a term

starting on January 4, 2022 and expiring January 5, 2026;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints and confirms the following persons to serve as principals and alternates to the WMATA Board of Directors, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2022 and their

recommendations for members of the various boards:

WMATA Board of Directors:

Principals Alternates
Paul C. Smedberg Canek Aguirre

(Commonwealth Appointee) Term expires 01-07-2025

Term expires 01-05-2026

Matthew F. Letourneau Walter Alcorn

(NVTC Appointee) Term expires 01-04-2024

Term expires 01-03-2023

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the VRE Operations Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2022 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

VRE Operations Board:

Principals Alternates

Walter Alcorn Jeffrey C. McKay

Daniel G. Storck
James Walkinshaw

Libby Garvey Katie Cristol
Sarah Bagley Canek Aguirre

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Virginia Transit Association Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2022 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

Virginia Transit Association Board:

PrincipalsAlternatesDavid F. SnyderKatie CristolKatherine A. MatticeCanek Aguirre

Approved this 6th day of January 2022.

Canek Aguirre

Chair

Matt de Ferranti

Secretary-Treasurer

Matthew de Ferrati