

## **RESOLUTION #2407**

SUBJECT: NVTC Appointments to the WMATA Board of Directors and Chair of the NVTC

**WMATA** Committee

WHEREAS: NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA);

WHEREAS: At its January 16, 2020 Commission meeting, NVTC confirmed Christian Dorsey's

appointment to the WMATA Board with his term expiring on January 5, 2021;

WHEREAS: Christian Dorsey resigned from the WMATA Board of Directors on February 6,

2020;

WHEREAS:

Following the June 2018 NVTC Strategic Retreat, the Commission adopted its NVTC Policy for Appointing NVTC Members to the WMATA Board of Directors at its October 4, 2018 meeting, which includes:

- NVTC shall appoint its members to the WMATA Board in a manner that provides for the strongest Northern Virginia Transportation Commission District representation on the WMATA Board.
- NVTC shall strive to appoint its representative principal and alternate directors based on a rotation schedule that will allow a member from the four largest NVTC jurisdictions to serve as a principal director for at least one term within a 12-year period of time with consideration given for the scale of jurisdictional financial subsidy to WMATA.
- 3. NVTC's approach and timing in its WMATA Board member appointments shall take into consideration opportunities for NVTC's appointee to serve in leadership roles on the WMATA Board. Therefore, NVTC shall appoint members to a term of at least two years with the ability to be extended by the Commission.
- 4. NVTC recognizes the need to be flexible in the selection of its WMATA Board appointees to ensure that those NVTC members deemed the most effective representative of all NVTC jurisdictions serve in that capacity.
- 5. The NVTC WMATA Committee, as established in NVTC's By-Laws, will serve as the primary venue for NVTC jurisdictions to discuss issues with the appointed NVTC WMATA Board members.
- The Virginia Secretary of Transportation or his/her designee is required by statute to be one of NVTC's principal appointees to the WMATA Board. As such, NVTC requests that the Secretary consult with NVTC in naming a designee.

WHEREAS: Virginia Secretary of Transportation Shannon Valentine designated Paul C.

Smedberg to be the Secretary's designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board, which

became effective January 1, 2019 with the term expiring January 4, 2022;

WHEREAS: NVTC WMATA Committee membership is governed by NVTC's By-Laws, which

directs the chair be one of the two alternate members appointed by the

Commission to the WMATA Board of Directors;

WHEREAS: NVTC By-Laws require the WMATA Committee chair be one of the two NVTC

alternate members appointed by NVTC to the WMATA Board of Directors.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints and confirms the following persons to serve as Principal Directors and Alternates to the WMATA Board of Directors:

## **WMATA Board of Directors:**

Principals

Paul C. Smedberg

(Commonwealth Appointee)

Term expires 01-04-2022

Matthew F. Letourneau

(NVTC Appointee)

Term expires 01-03-2023

Alternates

Canek Aguirre

Term expires 01-05-2021

Walter Alcorn

Term expires 01-04-2024

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC hereby appoints alternate WMATA Board member Canek Aguirre to serve as the chair of the NVTC WMATA Committee.

Approved this 5th day of March 2020.

Katie Cristol

Chair

Jeffrey C. McKay

Secretary-Treasurer