

## **RESOLUTION #2400**

- **SUBJECT:** Selection of NVTC Representatives to Various Boards
- **WHEREAS:** NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) and the Virginia Transit Association (VTA);
- **WHEREAS:** Some of NVTC's jurisdictions may not formally appoint their NVTC members prior to NVTC's January meeting and some may not be ready with recommendations for appointment to various boards; and
- WHEREAS: Secretary Shannon Valentine has designated Paul C. Smedberg to be the Secretary's designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board, which became effective January 1, 2019 with the term expiring January 4, 2022.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints and confirms the following persons to serve as principals and alternates to the WMATA Board of Directors, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2020 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## WMATA Board of Directors:

<u>Principals</u> Paul C. Smedberg (Commonwealth Appointee) Term expires 01-04-2022 <u>Alternates</u> Walter Alcorn Term expires 01-04-2024

Christian Dorsey (NVTC Appointee) Term expires 01-05-2021 Matthew F. Letourneau Term expires 01-03-2023

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the VRE Operations Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2020 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## **VRE Operations Board:**

<u>Principals</u> Walter Alcorn Daniel G. Storck James Walkinshaw Katie Cristol Elizabeth Bennett-Parker

<u>Alternates</u> Jeffrey C. McKay

Libby Garvey Canek Aguirre **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Virginia Transit Association Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2020 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

Virginia Transit Association Board:

<u>Principals</u> David F. Snyder Katherine A. Mattice <u>Alternates</u> Katie Cristol Elizabeth Bennett-Parker

Approved this 16<sup>th</sup> day of January 2020.

Katie Cristol Chair

CI

Jeffrey C. Mekay Secretary-Treasurer