

RESOLUTION #2350

SUBJECT: Selection of NVTC Representatives to Various Boards

WHEREAS: NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), the Virginia

Railway Express (VRE) and the Virginia Transit Association (VTA);

WHEREAS: Some of NVTC's jurisdictions may not formally appoint their NVTC

members prior to NVTC's January meeting and some may not be ready with

recommendations for appointment to various boards;

WHEREAS: Secretary Aubrey Layne designated James Corcoran to be the Secretary's

designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board to fill the unexpired term of James W. Dyke, Jr., and that appointment became effective February 1,

2015, with the term expiring January 9, 2018; and

WHEREAS: Governor-Elect Northam will not be sworn in as Governor of the

Commonwealth of Virginia until January 13, 2018;

WHEREAS: The Commission is being asked to reappoint Mr. Corcoran to the WMATA

Board to serve until Governor Northam appoints his representative from the

Commonwealth.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints and confirms the following persons to serve as Principals and Alternates to the WMATA Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2018 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

WMATA Board:

Principals

James Corcoran

Alternates

Christian Dorsey

(term expires 01/09/2019)

Catherine Hudgins

(term expires 01/05/2021)

Paul Smedberg

(term expires 01/02/2020)

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the VRE Operations Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2018 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

VRE Operations Board:

<u>Principals</u> <u>Alternates</u>

Sharon Bulova Jeffrey C. McKay

John C. Cook

Paul Smedberg Tim Lovain Katie Cristol Libby Garvey

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Virginia Transit Association Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2018 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

VTA Board:

<u>Principals</u> <u>Alternates</u>

David F. Snyder Jeffrey C. McKay Katherine A. Mattice Katie Cristol

Approved this 4th day of January 2018.

Paul C. Smedberg

Chairman

Katie Cristol

Secretary-Treasurer