

## **RESOLUTION #2329**

**SUBJECT:** Selection of NVTC Representatives to Various Boards

WHEREAS: NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) and the Virginia Transit Association (VTA);

**WHEREAS:** Some of NVTC's jurisdictions may not formally appoint their NVTC members prior to NVTC's January meeting and some may not be ready with recommendations for appointment to various boards;

WHEREAS: Secretary Aubrey Layne designated James Corcoran to be the Secretary's designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board to fill the unexpired term of James W. Dyke, Jr., which expires January 9, 2018 and that appointment became effective February 1, 2015;

**WHEREAS:** Paul C. Smedberg was appointed to the WMATA Board for a four-year term which expires January 2, 2020; and

**WHEREAS:** James Corcoran and Paul C. Smedberg will continue to serve their terms on the WMATA Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints and confirms the following persons to serve as Principals and Alternates to the WMATA Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2017 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## **WMATA Board:**

Principals
James Corcoran
(term expires 01/09/2018)

Catherine Hudgins (term expires 01/05/2021)

Alternates
Christian Dorsey
(term expires 01/09/2019)

Paul Smedberg (term expires 01/02/2020)

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the VRE Operations Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2016 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## **VRE Operations Board:**

<u>Principals</u>
Sharon Bulova

Alternates
Jeffrey C. McKay

John C. Cook
Paul Smedberg

Katie Cristol Libby Garvey

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Virginia Transit Association Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2016 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## **VTA Board:**

Principals
David F. Snyder
Katherine A. Mattice

Alternates
Jeffrey C. McKay
Katie Cristol

Approved this 5<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2017.

Jeffrey C. McKay

Chairman

Mat Letourneau Secretary-Treasurer