

## **RESOLUTION #2294**

- **SUBJECT:** Selection of NVTC Representatives to Various Boards.
- WHEREAS: NVTC is empowered to make appointments to the Board of Directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) and the Virginia Transit Association (VTA);
- WHEREAS: Some of NVTC's jurisdictions may not formally appoint their NVTC members prior to NVTC's January meeting and some may not be ready with recommendations for appointment to various boards;
- WHEREAS: Secretary Aubrey Layne designated James Corcoran to be the Secretary's designee on NVTC and the WMATA Board to fill the unexpired term of James W. Dyke, Jr., which expires January 9, 2018 and that appointment became effective February 1, 2015;
- WHEREAS: Catherine M. Hudgins was appointed to the WMATA Board for a threeyear term which expires January 9, 2017; and
- WHEREAS: James Corcoran and Catherine M. Hudgins will continue to serve their terms on the WMATA Board.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby appoints the following persons to serve as Alternates to the WMATA Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2016 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

## WMATA Board:

<u>Alternates</u> Paul Smedberg Christian Dorsey

4-year term (expires January 2, 2020) 1-year term (expires January 7, 2017) **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the VRE Operations Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2016 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

VRE Operations Board:

Principals Sharon Bulova John C. Cook Paul Smedberg Katie Cristol <u>Alternates</u> Jeffrey C. McKay

Jay Fisette

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Virginia Transit Association Board, subject to possible subsequent action by NVTC's jurisdictions that alters their NVTC members for 2016 and their recommendations for members of the various boards:

VTA Board:

Principals David F. Snyder Kelley Coyner

Approved this 7<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2016.

Paul Smedberg Secretary-Treasurer

<u>Alternates</u> Jeffrey C. McKay (vacant)

Vay Fisette Chairman