

## **RESOLUTION #2269**

SUBJECT: Approval of the Amended VRE Master Agreement Regarding Weighted Voting

- WHEREAS: The Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Master Agreement for the Provision of Commuter Rail Service in Northern Virginia (the "Master Agreement") was approved by the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC) and the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC), as well as the Participating and Contributing Jurisdictions;
- **WHEREAS:** The VRE Master Agreement sets forth the requirements for passage of motions by the VRE Operations Board;
- WHEREAS: The Virginia General Assembly has enacted a statutory requirement amending §15.2-4507 and providing that for each year the state contribution is greater or equal to the highest contribution from a single jurisdiction, the Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board or his designee shall have a weighted vote equal to the highest contributing jurisdiction;
- WHEREAS: An amendment to Section II, Part B, Paragraph 4 of the current Master Agreement is necessary for compliance with §15.2-4507 as amended;
- WHEREAS: The VRE Operations Board recommended NVTC transmit the proposed Master Agreement amendment to the Participating and Contributing Jurisdictions for their approval and execution; and
- WHEREAS: At their July 2014 meeting, NVTC and PRTC approved the transmittal of the VRE Master Agreement for the Provision of Commuter Rail Service in Northern Virginia containing the necessary amendment to all Participating and Contributing Jurisdictions for their approval and execution, and directed that management return to the Commissions after all the Participating and Contributing Jurisdictions have approved and executed it so the Commissions can authorize its execution of same; and
- WHEREAS: All the Participating and Contributing Jurisdictions have approve and executed it.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission hereby authorizes its Chairman to execute the amended VRE Master Agreement on behalf of the Commission.

Approved this fifth day of February 2015.

F. Snyder David Chairman

ŧ

Jeffrey McKay Secretary-Treasurer (