

Resolution #2247

SUBJECT: Appointment of NVTC Member to the PRTC/NVTC Joint Audit Committee.

WHEREAS: At its October 2013 meeting, the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) authorized the creation of the Joint Audit Committee (IAC) and approved initial appointments to the Joint Audit Committee:

(JAC) and approved initial appointments to the Joint Audit Committee;

WHEREAS: The Joint Audit Committee is comprised of the five members of the VRE Executive Committee plus a sixth appointment made by whichever Commission has fewer members on the VRE Executive Committee so the six-member Joint Audit Committee is always divided equally between the

two Commissions:

WHEREAS: For 2014, two of NVTC's Commissioners are serving as VRE Executive Committee members (John Cook as VRE Operations Board Vice-Chairman and Paul Smedberg as VRE Operations Board Treasurer/Immediate Past Chairman), having been appointed to these positions by the VRE Operations Board at its January 2014 meeting;

WHEREAS: The Commission needs to appoint one other Commissioner to the Joint Audit Committee for 2014; and

WHEREAS: NVTC Chairman Smedberg has recommended that Sharon Bulova be appointed to the Joint Audit Committee for 2014.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission does hereby appoint Sharon Bulova to serve as the third NVTC Joint Audit Committee member for 2014, joining Commissioners John Cook and Paul Smedberg.

Approved this 1st day of May 2014.

Paul C. Smedberg

Chairman

Jay Fisette

Secretary-Treasurer