

## RESOLUTION

- **SUBJECT:** Commending the Honorable J. Randall Minchew on the Occasion of His Departure from NVTC and the General Assembly
- **WHEREAS:** The Honorable J. Randall Minchew has served as a member of the Virginia General Assembly since 2012 as the representative of the 10<sup>th</sup> District serving parts of Loudoun, Frederick and Clarke counties;
- WHEREAS: Delegate Minchew has served as a Commissioner on the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission since May 2014 and also as a member of the Executive Committee;
- **WHEREAS:** NVTC serves as the voice of public transit in Northern Virginia, promoting the region's transit network through effective and efficient public bus and rail systems and ridesharing programs to foster economic vitality in the Region and the Commonwealth;
- **WHEREAS:** Delegate Minchew is recognized as a highly effective legislator in the Virginia General Assembly, consistently gaining high marks from nonpartisan organizations;
- **WHEREAS:** Delegate Minchew's HB181 legislation increased Loudoun County's representation on NVTC from one to two Commissioners; and
- **WHEREAS:** During the 2017 General Assembly Session, Delegate Minchew was instrumental in ensuring passage of Metro Safety Commission legislation; and his friendly amendment to HB2136 brought NVTC to the table to participate in the discussion of WMATA reforms by requiring Virginia's Secretary of Transportation to work with the Commission to commence discussions on revisiting the Metro Compact.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission commends the Honorable J. Randall Minchew for his service to NVTC, the citizens of Northern Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that NVTC prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Delegate Minchew as an expression of its gratitude and in appreciation of his leadership and work on the Commission in promoting and funding public transit and ridesharing in Northern Virginia.

Approved this 4<sup>th</sup> day of January 2018.

Paul (Smedlierg

Paul C. Smedberg Chairman