



# NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY – OCTOBER 3, 2024

2300 Wilson Blvd. Suite 230 Arlington, VA 22201

### **NVTC Executive Committee Members Present:**

Matt de Ferranti. Chair

Canek Aguirre (via electronic participation)

Walter Alcorn

Sarah Bagley

Adam Ebbin

Matt Letourneau (non-voting member)

Paul Smedberg (non-voting member)

David Snyder

## **NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent:**

Dalia Palchik

## Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director

Andrew D'huyvetter

Allan Fye

Scott Kalkwarf

Ann McGrane

Kirk Dand (Arlington County)

Chair de Ferranti called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. Staff confirmed an in-person quorum was present.

Chair de Ferranti stated that Commissioner Aguirre requested to participate in the meeting virtually as he was out of town on personal business. Ms. Bagley moved with a second from Senator Ebbin to approve Mr. Aguirre's request to participate virtually. The motion passed with Commissioners Alcorn, Bagley, de Ferranti, Ebbin, Letourneau and Smedberg voting in the affirmative.

Chair de Ferranti noted that the summary of the September 5, 2024, Executive Committee meeting was provided in the meeting materials and there were no corrections from committee members.

Mr. Aguirre joined the meeting virtually at 6:04 p.m.

Ms. Mattice then briefed the Executive Committee on NVTC's work toward long-term sustainable dedicated funding for transit. She reminded the committee that NVTC staff have been working to ensure the efforts of SJ 28, the Virginia focused element of this work, and DMV*Moves* are coordinated, so that both groups work complementary to one another.

Mr. Snyder arrived at 6:06 p.m.

Ms. Mattice shared that DMV*Moves* presented two different funding scenarios. One is a continuation of existing service and baseline state of good repair and a second which includes improved service and baseline state of good repair. Both scenarios identify funding gaps starting in FY 2028. Ms. Mattice emphasized that the funding scenarios presented by DMV*Moves* assume that the extra monies which compact jurisdictions received in FY 2025 and FY 2026 continue in perpetuity. Ms. Mattice added that much of the SJ 28 work has been focused on needs level analysis for local transit systems and identifying different revenue sources.

Mr. Alcorn requested that, as NVTC engages with lawmakers during the next General Assembly Session, the Commissioners receive timely communications about budgets and funding balances that relate to their jurisdictions.

Ms. Bagley asked when Commissioners will know if the current level of funding will continue for WMATA funding. Senator Ebbin stated that the governor's proposed budget comes out around the third week in December and could propose adjustments to the WMATA subsidy. Ms. Bagley clarified that NVTC's concerns are primarily focused on the governor's two-year FY 2027-2028 Budget. Mr. Letourneau agreed but added that even if Virginia fully committed to funding next year that Maryland and the District of Columbia could still have a shortfall which would potentially impact the system.

Ms. Mattice then reviewed the Agenda for the October 3 Commission meeting. She noted that the Consent Agenda includes a budget related notice of direct contributions to the jurisdictions and acceptance of the Regional Bus Analysis Report. The Commission will also recognize Mary Hynes for her 30 years of service to regional transit. The new WMATA Inspector General, Michelle Zamarin, will also join the meeting. Mr. Letourneau added that he expects a detailed update on the formula discussions soon. The Program Advisory Committee and the Joint Commission Working Group will provide reports and request action to accept the Commuter Choice Annual Report and opening the call for projects for I-395/95. There are four Virginia Railway Express actions and a discussion on the proposed Virginia Passenger Rail Authority (VPRA) funding agreement.

Ms. Mattice discussed administrative items with the committee which included a letter to the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority providing a list of proposed candidates to serve as members, the proposed 2025 Commission meeting schedule, reviewing NVTC's approach to the 2025 slate of officers and a brief update on the developing 2025 budget which will come before the Commission for approval in January 2025.

### **Closed Session**

The committee then spent some time focusing on the executive director's annual review process. Mr. de Ferranti moved, with a second by Mr. Ebbin, the following motion:

Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Section 2.2-3711A(1) of the Code of Virginia), the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission's Executive Committee authorizes discussion in Closed Session concerning the executive director's annual performance review.

The motion passed with Commissioners Alcorn, Bagley, de Ferranti, Ebbin, Letourneau, Smedberg and Snyder voting in the affirmative. A roll call vote was done for Commissioners participating electronically and Mr. Aguirre voted in the affirmative.

The Executive Committee went into Closed Session at 6:44 p.m. and returned to Open Session at 6:58 p.m.

Chair de Ferranti moved, with a second by Ms. Bagley, the following certification:

The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission's Executive Committee certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge and with no individual member dissenting, at the just concluded Closed Session:

- 1) Only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act were discussed; and
- 2) Only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Session was convened were heard, discussed or considered.

The motion passed with Commissioners Alcorn, Bagley, de Ferranti, Ebbin, Letourneau, Smedberg and Snyder voting in the affirmative. A roll call vote was done for Commissioners participating electronically and Mr. Aguirre voted in the affirmative.

With no further discussion, Chair de Ferranti adjourned the meeting at 6:59 p.m.