



## NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NVTC Suite #230 Conference Room May 5, 2024

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Present:** 

Matt de Ferranti, Chair Walter Alcorn Adam Ebbin Paul Smedberg (non-voting member) David Snyder

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent:** 

Canek Aguirre Sarah Bagley Matt Letourneau (non-voting member) Dalia Palchik

Other NVTC Commissioners Present:

Jennifer DeBruhl

Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director
Genoveva Cutrell
Andrew D'huyvetter
Allan Fye
Aimee Perron Seibert (via electronic participation)
Kirk Dand (Arlington County)

Chair de Ferranti called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. He confirmed that no Commissioners were participating virtually. Kate Mattice confirmed an in-person quorum was present at 6:02 p.m. when Mr. Smedberg joined the meeting.

Chair de Ferranti noted that the summary of the April 4, 2024, Executive Committee meeting was provided in the meeting materials and there were no corrections from committee members.

Ms. Mattice then reviewed the Commission Agenda. She noted that the evening's agenda included recognition of new and departing Commissioners, a presentation from Metropolitan Washington Council of Government's Executive Director Clark Mercer on the Unified Vision for Transit Service, a presentation on the staff-recommended Commuter Choice I-66 Program of

Projects, NVTC's Strategic Research Roadmap project, and the usual reports from DRPT, VRE, WMATA, and the Legislative and Policy Committee.

Senator Ebbin arrived at 6:03 p.m.

The committee discussed in more detail the WMATA and MWCOG unified transit vision, now known as DMVMoves, which MWCOG Executive Director Clark Mercer would be presenting on this evening. Ms. Mattice shared that some Commissioners had expressed concerns that Inside the Beltway representatives from Virginia were not on the task force.

Mr. Smedberg left the room at 6:13 p.m.

Mr. Snyder expressed that WMATA compact jurisdictions should be players on the DMVMoves efforts.

Mr. Smedberg returned to the room at 6:15 p.m.

Mr. Smedberg added to the discussion, stating that technical groups will be where the bulk of the work is done for the DMVMoves project. When assembling members of the task force, WMATA and MWCOG had to be mindful about including equal and equitable representation but also keeping the task force to a manageable number of people. Chair de Ferranti said that it is his understanding that the DMVMoves task force is trying to convene their first meeting in partnership with NVTC, inside the Beltway.

Ms. Mattice then provided a legislative update. She informed the committee that the Reconvened Session will begin on May 13. In anticipation of the new budget, she and Chair de Ferranti met with Secretary of Transportation Miller, and the Governor's Chief of Staff, Mr. Goettman. Ms. Mattice added that bill SJ 28, which establishes a joint subcommittee to study transit funding needs in Northern Virginia, will have Senators Ebbin, Surovell, and Boysko as members. However, House Members have still not been named. She added that it is her hope that the SJ 28 study will dovetail nicely with MWCOG/WMATA's DMVMoves effort.

Ms. Mattice updated the committee on future calendar events, reminding them that the next joint WMATA Committee/Legislative and Policy Committee meeting will be on May 16.

With no further discussion, Chair de Ferranti adjourned the meeting at 6:37 p.m.