



# NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NVTC Suite #230 Conference Room March 7, 2024

# **NVTC Executive Committee Members Present:**

Matt de Ferranti, Chair

Canek Aguirre

Walter Alcorn

Sarah Bagley

Dalia Palchik

Paul Smedberg (non-voting member) (via electronic participation)

David Snyder

## **NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent:**

Adam Ebbin (Senator absent during General Assembly Session)

Matt Letourneau (non-voting member)

### Other NVTC Commissioners Present:

Jennifer De Bruhl (via electronic participation)

# Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director

Genoveva Cutrell

Allan Fye

**Xavier Harmony** 

**Robert Rudesill** 

Kirk Dand (Arlington County)

Sophie Guiny (InfraStrategies)

Robert Puentes (InfraStrategies)

Joshua Schank (InfraStrategies)

Chair de Ferranti called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. Chair de Ferranti informed the committee that Mr. Smedberg requested electronic participation as he was out of town on personal business and Ms. De Bruhl requested to participate electronically under the provision that she resides more than 60 miles away from the meeting location. Ms. Mattice confirmed an in-person quorum was present.

Ms. Palchik moved with a second by Ms. Bagley to approve Mr. Smedberg and Ms. De Bruhl's requests to participate remotely. The motion passed with Commissioners Aguirre, Alcorn, de Ferranti, and Snyder voting in the affirmative.

Chair de Ferranti noted that the summary of the January 4, 2024 Executive Committee meeting was provided in the meeting materials and there were no corrections from committee members. Ms. Mattice then reviewed the March 7 Commission Agenda, which includes recognition of new and departing Commissioners, I-66 Commuter Choice project eligibility results, and the usual reports from WMATA, the Legislative and Policy Committee, DRPT and VRE. Chair de Ferranti did note that there was a change to the Commission Agenda, which added ratifying the WMATA Committee's letter on WMATA's FY 2025 budget to the consent items. There was no opposition from committee members to this change.

Ms. Bagley asked NVTC staff for more information about I-66 Commuter Choice "toll payer benefit" definitions and restrictions, pointing out that it has been a while since this language was examined and the way people commute has evolved. Chair de Ferranti agreed that this was an important point and requested that staff determine what the next course of action could be.

Mr. Aguirre left the room at 6:21 p.m.

Ms. Mattice informed the committee that Senator Ebbin's bill, S28, which establishes a joint subcommittee to study sustainable funding and cost containment measures for Northern Virginia transportation systems, passed the General Assembly. Committee members discussed the makeup of the subcommittee and technical working groups established by SJ28. Ms. Mattice expects NVTC to play a significant role in this effort and will update the committee as more information is learned.

Mr. Aguirre returned to the room at 6:34 p.m.

The committee members were then briefed on NVTC's research strategic plan. Joshua Schank, Sophie Guiny, and Rob Puentes with InfraStrategies joined the meeting virtually and reviewed what the study is and what work has been done so far. Ms. Mattice added that this is also an opportunity for Commissioners to provide feedback on the direction of NVTC's policy research in the coming years. Committee members stated that they would like to be kept closely in the loop as this project proceeds, asking for more details and specificity as things progress. Chair de Ferranti added that more briefings and conversations can be set up for future Executive Committee meetings and that the PAC Committee is also actively involved with the research strategic plan.

Ms. Mattice wrapped up the meeting by reviewing future calendar and administrative items, noting that the July Commission meeting will be on July 18 and all-virtual and in September it is anticipated that there will be no Commission meeting prior to the 60<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration.

With no further discussion, Chair de Ferranti adjourned the meeting at 6:55 p.m.