

NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NVTC Suite #230 Conference Room June 6, 2024

NVTC Executive Committee Members Present: Matt de Ferranti, Chair Walter Alcorn Sarah Bagley Adam Ebbin Matt Letourneau (non-voting member) Dalia Palchik Paul Smedberg (non-voting member) David Snyder

NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent: Canek Aguirre

Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director Genoveva Cutrell Andrew D'huyvetter Allan Fye Scott Kalkwarf

Chair de Ferranti called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:07 p.m. He noted that there were no Commissioners participating virtually. Ms. Mattice confirmed an in-person quorum was present.

Chair de Ferranti noted that the summary of the May 2, 2024, Executive Committee meeting was provided in the meeting materials and there were no corrections from committee members.

Ms. Mattice then reviewed the Commission June 6 Agenda. She stated that one public comment expressing concerns about additional Fredericksburg VRE trains was received. Ms. Mattice then noted that the evening's Consent Agenda includes certification of certain documents for WMATA and approval of NVTC's Electronic Participation Policy. Ms. Mattice informed the committee that the new policy requires virtual participants to be on screen to be counted as present. The committee requested that Ms. Mattice follow up with legal counsel to confirm the details and if this means that a virtual participant only needs to be on camera to vote. Mr. Alcorn requested that staff explore a compliance strategy for the new electronic participation requirements.

1

Ms. Palchik arrived at 6:14 p.m.

Ms. Mattice shared that the Agenda originally included recognition of Mary Hynes, whose term on the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) is ending, but due to illness Ms. Hynes cannot attend. The agenda item has been removed and will be added to a future agenda.

Mr. Smedberg arrived at 6:16 p.m.

Ms. Mattice shared that the Commission meeting will also include regular reports from the WMATA Committee and the Legislative and Policy Committee, with more information shared on the SJ 28 and DMV*Moves* working groups and NVTC's roles within those groups. There will also be action requested on the I-66 Commuter Choice Program of Projects and needs assessment work. Staff presentations will include Route 7 BRT, Transit Trends and the ZEB Strategic Plan. VRE CEO Rich Dalton will provide an update on the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority (VPRA) and Norfolk Southern negotiations for acquisition of the Manassas Line.

Ms. Mattice informed the committee that all 11 members of the SJ 28 Northern Virginia Growing Needs of Public Transit Joint Subcommittee have now been appointed and they include Delegates Sickles, Delaney, McLure and Austin; Senators Ebbin, Boysko and Surovell; WMATA Board Chair Paul Smedberg; NVTC Commissioner Walter Alcorn, NVTC Executive Director Kate Mattice; and the Secretary of Transportation or his designee. Northern Virginia Transportation Alliance Executive Director Jason Stanford was appointed as a representative of Northern Virginia businesses to be a member of the Subcommittee's technical working group.

Mr. Fye then spoke to the SJ 28 and DMV*Moves* initiatives and how NVTC staff will support these efforts to identify long-term and sustainable funding for transit in Northern Virginia. Mr. Fye explained that identifying and setting up a staff-level working group, like last year's, would help keep this effort moving forward and be responsive to Commissioner's questions. NVTC staff have begun outlining how the working group would come together to provide good policy, funding and legislative analysis to the Commissioners. Mr. Snyder stated that he is interested in the Executive Committee being engaged in this process.

Ms. Mattice previewed upcoming events, including the all-virtual Executive Committee and Commission meetings on July 18. There will be no Commission meeting in August. In lieu of a September meeting, NVTC will be holding its 60th Anniversary celebration on September 5. There was interest expressed in having a brief Executive Committee meeting on the evening of September 5 before the celebration.

With no further discussion, Chair de Ferranti adjourned the meeting at 6:48 p.m.