

NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NVTC Suite #230 Conference Room November 2, 2023

NVTC Executive Committee Members Present: Dalia Palchik, Chair Canek Aguirre Walter Alcorn Sarah Bagley Matt de Ferranti Adam Ebbin Paul Smedberg (non-voting member) Dave Snyder

NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent: Matt Letourneau (non-voting member)

Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director Genoveva Cutrell Allan Fye Scott Kalkwarf Kirk Dand (Arlington County)

Chair Palchik called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:04 p.m. Ms. Mattice confirmed an in-person quorum was present.

Chair Palchik noted that the summary of the October 5, 2023 Executive Committee meeting was provided in the meeting materials and there were no corrections from committee members.

Ms. Mattice then reviewed the November Commission Agenda, which includes presentations on the Annual Report on the Performance and Condition of WMATA, NVTC's proposed 2024 Legislative and Policy Agenda, as well as a presentation from Northern Virginia's representative to the Commonwealth Transportation Board, Mary Hynes, regarding proposed changes to the SMART SCALE program. There will also be a Closed Session to discuss the executive director's annual performance review.

Mr. Snyder arrived at 6:07 p.m.

NVTC Director of Finance Scott Kalkwarf then presented the preliminary FY 2025 budget. The committee reviewed line items which included a new position for an analyst. There was discussion about including an additional communications position. Mr. Kalkwarf confirmed that at the December Executive Committee he will present two budget options. Mr. Kalkwarf

reminded the committee that they will refer the budget to the full Commission at the next meeting, and the full Commission will vote on its adoption at the January 2024 meeting.

Senator Ebbin and Mr. Smedberg arrived at 6:24 p.m.

Ms. Mattice shared that the Commission is pleased to welcome new board member Joseph Kornhoff who will be taking the place of Nick Clemente. Mr. Kornhoff will attend this evening's Commission meeting. Ms. Mattice also reminded committee members that in December there will be a call for officers and an opportunity to change committee assignments.

Ms. Mattice also shared with the committee that the NVTC marketing and engagement team has been working closely with staff to place an ad promoting the updated Value of Transit to the Commonwealth study in black and red books which are distributed in the General Assembly. She also shared that in partnership with the red and black book print advertisements, a geo-targeted social media advertising campaign will be kicking off in January to coincide with when the General Assembly convenes. The committee reviewed the draft print advertisement and discussed potential changes, which included making some portions of the logos bigger, swapping out pictures to be more transit focused and including more value of transit facts.

Closed Session

The committee then went into Closed Session to conduct the executive director's review.

Mr. de Ferranti moved, with a second by Mr. Ebbin, the following motion:

Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Section 2.2-3711A(1) of the Code of Virginia), the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission's Executive Committee authorizes discussion in Closed Session concerning the executive director's annual performance review.

The motion passed with Commissioners Aguirre, Alcorn, Bagley, de Ferranti, Ebbin, Palchik, Smedberg and Snyder voting in the affirmative.

The committee went into Closed Session at 6:56 p.m. and returned to Open Session at 7:07 p.m.

Mr. Snyder moved, with a second by Mr. Aguirre, the following certification:

The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission's Executive Committee certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge and with no individual member dissenting, at the just concluded Closed Session:

- 1) Only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act were discussed; and
- 2) Only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Session was convened were heard, discussed or considered.

The motion passed with Commissioners Aguirre, Alcorn, Bagley, de Ferranti, Ebbin, Palchik, Smedberg and Snyder voting in the affirmative.

With no further discussion, Chair Palchik adjourned the meeting at 7:07 p.m.

-0