

## NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NVTC Suite #230 Conference Room 2300 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Virginia March 3, 2022

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Present:** 

Canek Aguirre, Chair
Katie Cristol
Matt de Ferrenti
Matt Letourneau (non-voting member)
David Meyer
Paul Smedberg (non-voting member)
David Snyder

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent:** 

Walter Alcorn Dalia Palchik

Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director

Chair Aguirre called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:03 p.m. He explained that NVTC is continuing with its safety protocols due to the COVID-19 variants. Ms. Mattice confirmed a quorum was present.

Chair Aguirre noted that the summary of the January 6, 2022 Executive Committee meeting was provided and there were no corrections from committee members.

Ms. Mattice previewed the agenda for the March 3 NVTC Commission meeting, which follows this meeting. She noted that NVTC received one general public comment, focusing on two questions related to the 7000-series railcars asking when WMATA anticipates submitting an updated service inspection plan to the Washington Metrorail Safety Commission for their review and approval and when WMATA anticipates the 7000-series railcars will return to service. Ms. Mattice stated that WMATA General Manager/CEO Paul Wiedefeld is joining the Commission to discuss WMATA issues and can address these questions. Other agenda highlights include Consent Agenda (Executive Committee appointment, Transit Recovery Marketing Campaign contract and state grant applications); updates on the I-66 Commuter Choice (FY 2023 – 2024) project eligibility results, Envision Route 7 BRT, legislative, and reports from VRE, WMATA and DRPT.

Ms. Mattice also noted that the Commission will be recognizing four departing Commissioners. NVTC was notified that the appointments of Delegates Filler-Corn, Krizek, Reid and Sullivan

expired February 2, 2022. The four new appointees to NVTC to replace them are M. David Skiles, Nick Clemente, Aimee Gilroy and John Tuck.

Ms. Mattice stated that as part of the Consent Agenda for the Commission meeting, the Commission will be asked to appoint Adam Ebbin to the Executive Committee to fill the vacancy left by Eileen Filler-Corn's departure from NVTC. NVTC's By-Laws specify the membership of the Executive Committee, which includes one member of the General Assembly. As per the By-Laws, the Executive Committee nominates the General Assembly member, followed by Commission action. Senator Ebbin has agreed to serve on the committee.

Mr. de Ferrenti moved, with a second by Mr. Smedberg, to nominate Adam Ebbin to serve on the Executive Committee. The vote in favor was cast by Committee Members Aguirre, Cristol, de Ferrenti, Meyer and Snyder. (Mr. Smedberg and Mr. Letourneau are non-voting members and did not vote.)

Chair Aguirre adjourned the meeting at 6:25 p.m.