

## NVTC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY

## First Floor Small Conference Room Navy League Building – Arlington, Virginia January 16, 2020

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Present:** 

Matt Letourneau, Chairman Katie Cristol Christian Dorsey (non-voting member) David Meyer Paul Smedberg (non-voting member)

**NVTC Executive Committee Members Absent:** 

Adam Ebbin David Snyder

Other NVTC Commissioners Present:

Canek Aguirre Jennifer Mitchell

Staff and Others Present:

Kate Mattice, Executive Director Allan Fye Steve MacIsaac Jason Drake

Chairman Letourneau called the Executive Committee meeting to order at 6:09 P.M. He stated that Jason Drake from the Arlington County Human Resources Department was in attendance to present the results of Ms. Mattice's 360 evaluation.

Chairman Letourneau moved, with a second by Mr. Dorsey, the following motion:

Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Section 2.2-3711A.1 of the Code of Virginia), the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission's Executive Committee moves to convene a Closed Session to discuss a personnel matter.

The vote in favor was cast by committee members Cristol, Dorsey, Letourneau, Meyer and Smedberg. The Executive Committee then went into Closed Session at 7:00 P.M. Ms. Mattice and Mr. Drake participated in the Closed Session. Mr. Aguirre and Ms. Mitchell joined at 6:20 P.M.

After returning to Open Session at 6:45 P.M., Chairman Letourneau moved, with a second by Mr. Dorsey, the following certification:

The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission Executive Committee certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge and with no individual member dissenting, at the just concluded Closed Session:

- 1) Only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act were discussed; and
- Only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened were heard, discussed or considered.

The vote in favor was cast by committee members Cristol, Dorsey, Letourneau, Meyer and Smedberg.

Chairman Letourneau moved, with a second by Ms. Cristol, to approve the December 5<sup>th</sup> Executive Committee Meeting Summary. The vote in favor was cast by committee members Cristol, Dorsey, Letourneau, Meyer and Mr. Smedberg.

Ms. Mattice reviewed the Agenda for the January 16<sup>th</sup> meeting, which includes five new Commissioners, election of 2020 officer, appointments to various boards and committees, a General Assembly update, NVTC's and VRE's FY2021budgets, and a letter to WMATA with comments on the budget. Assistant Secretary of Transportation Nick Donohue will be back to answer any questions on the I-66 Memorandum of Agreement. The MOA has been updated since the December meeting, but there are no outstanding concerns. The Commission will also have a public comment period during the meeting on the 2020 Work Plan.

The Executive Committee adjourned at 6:58 P.M.