

Virginia State Code on the appointment of WMATA Board members from Virginia

A summary of State Code generated by NVTC staff – updated February 3, 2025

Code of Virginia
Title 33.2. Highways and Other Surface Transportation Systems
Chapter 19. Transportation District Act of 1964

1. Appointment of WMATA Board Members § 33.2-1907.B.

WMATA Board Members from Virginia

The Secretary or his designee and any appointed member of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission are authorized to serve as members of the board of directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

One Principal Director shall include the Secretary of Transportation or his designee

NVTC shall include the Secretary or his designee as a principal member on the board of directors of WMATA. Any designee serving as the principal member must reside in a locality served by WMATA.

Selection Requirements

In selecting from its membership those members to serve on the board of directors of WMATA, the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission shall comply with the following requirements:

- 1. A board member shall not have been an employee of WMATA within one year of appointment to serve on the board of directors.
- 2. A board member shall have:
 - (i) experience in at least one of the fields of transit planning, transportation planning, or land use planning; transit or transportation management or other public sector management; engineering; finance; public safety; homeland security; human resources; or the law or
 - (ii) knowledge of the region's transportation issues derived from working on regional transportation issue resolution.
- 3. A board member shall be a regular patron of the services provided by WMATA.
- 4. Board members shall serve a term of four years with a maximum of two consecutive terms. Additionally, terms are staggered by year.
- 5. Members may be removed from the board of directors of WMATA if they attend fewer than three-fourths of the meetings in a calendar year.
- 6. Virginia members must submit attendance reports to the Secretary of Transportation.



2. Appointment of Members of the Commission § 33.2-1904.

The membership of NVTC is determined by state code. The Commission shall consist of the following unless otherwise noted:

A) 14 members from cities and counties embraced by the district:

- 5 nonlegislative citizen members from Fairfax County
- 3 nonlegislative citizen members from Arlington County
- 2 nonlegislative citizen members from Loudoun County
- 2 nonlegislative citizen members from the City of Alexandria
- 1 nonlegislative citizen member from the City of Falls Church
- 1 nonlegislative citizen member from the City of Fairfax
- Members from the Cities and Counties shall be appointed *from* their respective governing bodies *by* their respective governing bodies.

B) 6 members from or appointed by the General Assembly:

- 4 members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates. These members shall be from the House of Delegates.
- 2 members of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules

C) The Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board (i.e. the Secretary of Transportation) or his designee

Additional requirements:

- Members may be reappointed for successive terms.
- All members shall be citizens of the Commonwealth.
- Except for the Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board or his designee, all members of the Commission shall be residents of the localities composing the district.