MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release September 3, 2014

Contact: Kala Quintana 703/ 524-3322 ext. 104 kala@nvtdc.org

NORTHERN VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION CELEBRATES 50 YEARS OF TRANSIT INNOVATION ON SEPTEMBER 4, 2014

NVTC will honor the accomplishments of Transportation Leaders and Innovators; Confirmed special guest includes U.S. Deputy Secretary of Transportation Victor Mendez

Arlington, VA— The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) will celebrate 50 years of Transit Innovation at George Mason University's Founders Hall on September 4, 2014. The 50th Anniversary celebration will include special tributes to retiring U.S. Representatives James P. Moran (D-8th) and Frank Wolf (R-10th) for their support of the region's transit systems. Rep. Moran served on the commission from 1985-1990 and as its Chairman in 1988 and 1990.

U.S. Department of Transportation Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez has been added to the program and will join Virginia Transportation Secretary Aubrey Layne to mark the occasion. Also celebrating with NVTC: Members of Congress, current and past commissioners, Members of the Virginia General Assembly, and transportation leaders from across the region.

"NVTC brings the region together to make transit work for Virginians, its businesses, and visitors to the Commonwealth and the Nation's Capital," said **Virginia Transportation Secretary Aubrey Layne**. "We are committed to making sure that transit connects people to work and businesses to employees and customers."

"We will celebrate how NVTC brings the region together to work for transit including Metro and VRE, local and commuter buses, and even the region's first Bus Rapid Transit service which opened for business just a week and a half ago," said NVTC **Chairman Paul Smedberg**. "I am excited that as we celebrate our history, we will also look to the future by launching several new partnerships with business, transportation research organizations and government."

Event Details

Thursday, September 4 at 7:00 pm Founders Hall- George Mason University 3351 Fairfax Drive --Arlington, VA 22201

The 50th Anniversary celebration is hosted by **George Mason University**. The event brings together everyone who has been a part of NVTC's success and the expansion and growth of transit in the region for the past five decades. Other confirmed guests include:

- Victor Mendez, U.S. Deputy Secretary of Transportation
- Rep. James P. Moran, U.S. Congress



- 12 General Assembly Members including current (Hon. Tom Rust) and past Chair (Hon. Joe May) of the House Transportation Committee of the Virginia General Assembly
- Aubrey Layne, Virginia Secretary of Transportation
- John Milliken, Chairman of the Virginia Port Authority
- Levar Stoney, Secretary of the Commonwealth
- Jennifer Mitchell, Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation
- Mayors and Chairs in the region including: Chairman Sharon Bulova, Vice-Mayor David Snyder, Chairman Jay Fisette, Mayor William Euille and many more.

The 50th anniversary page on our web site <u>www.thinkoutsidethecar.org</u> includes a one-of-a-kind 50-year graphic timeline highlighting the progress and accomplishments of NVTC and transit in the region.

Did You Know?

- 76% of all transit trips in the Commonwealth of Virginia are in NoVA a total of 156M transit trips annually
- Virginia now has 52.47 miles of Metrorail & 25 Metrorail stations in Virginia
- > VRE now operates 30 trains, 111 railcars, 16 stations in Virginia (18 overall) and 90 miles of track
- Metrobus now has 335 routes and 15,000 bus stops throughout the region

NVTC