

Commission Meeting Alert

June 2, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Matt Friedman, NVTC 571-457-9516

NVTC TO HEAR ABOUT PANDEMIC'S IMPACT ON METRO, VRE Virginia House Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn among new Commissioners to be sworn-in

Arlington, Va. - Members of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission will hear important updates from Metro, VRE and the Commonwealth of Virginia regarding ridership and recovery efforts from the COVID-19 public health emergency at their June 4, 2020 meeting. They'll also welcome four new Commissioners from the House of Delegates. This meeting will be online-only and can be viewed on YouTube. There will NOT be an in-person meeting.

Transit in the time of COVID-19

Virginia's members of the Metro Board of Directors will provide insight and perspective on how the region's largest transit agency is coping with the effects of the COVID-19 public health emergency. NVTC Commissioner Paul Smedberg serves as chair of the Metro Board and Immediate-Past Chair Matt Letourneau serves as a Principal Director of the Board. Mr. Smedberg and Mr. Letourneau have been instrumental in overseeing the Metro budget, which was recently modified to adjust for sharp declines in ridership and the receipt of federal emergency relief money. They will also discuss the summer shutdown of four Orange and five Silver Line Metrorail stations in Northern Virginia. Acting Virginia Railway Express CEO Rich Dalton will provide updates on VRE's plan for safely providing service when more riders return to the commuter rail system. Jennifer Mitchell, Director of the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation, will discuss the pandemic's impact on transit statewide.

Virginia House Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn joins Commission

NVTC will swear-in four new Commissioners from the Virginia House of Delegates. By law, the Virginia House Speaker appoints four delegates to the Commission. House Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn has chosen Del. Paul Krizek (Fairfax County), Del. David Reid (Loudoun) and Del. Rip Sullivan (Arlington-Fairfax County). Speaker Filler-Corn (Fairfax County) also appointed herself to the Commission. The Commission now stands at nearly-full strength as we await one more nomination from the Senate.

Meeting Time and Location

The Commission meeting will be held Thursday, June 4 at 7 p.m. and can be viewed on the NVTC <u>YouTube</u> page. Full meeting materials are posted <u>online</u>. Members of the public wishing to provide public comment to the Commission can do so <u>here</u>, until 3 p.m. Thursday.

NVTC works to ensure that businesses and residents are served by a high capacity, high quality network of transit systems that allows the region to thrive. It funds and promotes transit in the counties of Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church. NVTC supports five local bus systems (ART, CUE, DASH, Fairfax Connector, Loudoun County Transit), WMATA (Metrorail/Metrobus) and the Virginia Railway Express. Visit www.NoVaTransit.org or call 703-524-3322 to learn more.

Check out our #NoVaRides Trip Planning page



Copyright © 2020 Northern Virginia Transportation Commission, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is: Northern Virginia Transportation Commission 2300 Wilson Boulevard Suite 230 Arlington, VA 22201

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails? You can <u>update your preferences</u> or <u>unsubscribe from this list</u>.

