Subscribe	Past Issues		Translate 💌
-----------	-------------	--	-------------

NVTC Elects 2019 Officers



NORTHERN VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NVTC Elects 2019 Officers

Arlington, VA – Officials from Loudoun, Arlington and Fairfax counties will lead the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) in 2019. The Commission voted Thursday to install Loudoun County Supervisor Matt Letourneau as chairman, Arlington County Board Member Katie Cristol as vice chairman, and Fairfax County Board of Supervisor's Chairman Sharon Bulova as secretary-treasurer. Each will serve a one-year term.

First elected in November 2011 to represent the Dulles District on the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, Matt Letourneau joined NVTC in 2016. He served as both the commission's vice chairman and chairman of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments last year. "It is truly an honor to become the first supervisor from Loudoun County to chair NVTC," he said. "As Loudoun County prepares for Metro's Silver Line, I am engaged in the full spectrum of WMATA issues. NVTC plays an essential role in coordinating Virginia's public transportation portfolio, including Metro. As chairman, I will focus on ensuring that WMATA continues to move forward with reforms and complies with fiscal direction from the General Assembly and our localities. While a funding agreement was reached at long last to achieve a state of good repair, we still have many challenges to ensure the long term success of the WMATA system. We

View this email in your browser

Press Release

For Release: Jan. 3, 2019 Karen Finucan Clarkson 571-483-3223 (office) 301-807-8545 (cell) karenfinucanclarkson@ novatransit.org



NVTC's 2019 officers (from left to right): Sharon Bulova, secretarytreasurer; Matt Letourneau, chairman; Katie Cristol, vice chairman

> NVTC works to ensure that businesses and residents are served by a high capacity, high quality network of transit systems that allows the region to thrive. It funds and promotes transit in the counties of Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church. NVTC supports five local bus systems (ART, CUE, DASH, Fairfax Connector, Loudoun County Transit), WMATA (Metrorail/Metrobus) and the Virginia Railway Express. Visit www.NoVaTransit.org or call 703-524-3322

Subscribe	Past Issues
00000000	1 401 100400

Translate •

options throughout the region, and I look forward to a productive year."

Two months after her election to the Arlington County Board in November 2015, Katie Cristol joined NVTC. She served as the commission's secretary-treasurer and chair of its Legislative and Policy Committee in 2018. Cristol has represented NVTC on the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Operations Board for the last two years. She currently is the VRE board's chair-elect. "In preparing for 2019, I am especially focused on maintaining strong working relationships across jurisdictions, as we collaborate on the new oversight and accountability reforms designed to ensure that WMATA, and Metrorail in particular, is a safe, reliable system that moves our citizens and powers our Northern Virginia economy," she said. "I am also looking forward to continued cooperation and innovative thinking on regional bus service."

Currently NVTC's longest serving commissioner, Sharon Bulova has represented Fairfax County on the commission for three decades. She is a founder of the Virginia Railway Express, having served on the VRE Operations Board since its inception in 1989. Bulova has held numerous leadership positions at both organizations during her lengthy tenure. "During 2019, I look forward to being a part of NVTC's continued renaissance under the leadership of Executive Director Kate Mattice and her outstanding team," she said. "The next round of transit projects using revenue from I-66 tolls will allow NVTC to embark on the development an effective regional transit network."

NVTC also installed new committee chairmen. Fairfax City Mayor David Meyer will chair the Legislative and Policy Committee. Fairfax County Supervisor and WMATA Alternate Director Catherine Hudgins will chair the WMATA to learn more.

Vist NVTC's Website

Subscribe	Past Issues			Translate		
Snyder will chair the Program Advisory Committee.						
		###				

 This email was sent to melissa@nvtdc.org

 why did I get this?
 unsubscribe from this list
 update subscription preferences

 Northern Virginia Transportation Commission · 2300 Wilson Boulevard · Suite 620 · Arlington, VA 22201 · USA

